Run Cancer Run

Reason #1.2 for running a marathon… Raising money for a spectacular cause.

Posted on: October 8, 2011

The whole reason for my run started in July 2010, when my mother was diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma. This rare and incurable blood cancer changed our lives forever. I watched as my mother fought this fight for all of us, while I was helpless to do anything. Then one day in December, I saw an interview of Kathy Guisti discussing how the MMRF has extended the outcomes for Multiple Myeloma patients. At the same time, I was watching several of my friends on Facebook complete marathons. I spent a sleepless night praying and thinking about the MMRF and the endurance events they run to raise money. I struggled with the idea of 26.2 miles. It was overwhelming, but I kept coming back to the thought that mom doesn’t have a choice in her challenges, she has to face them head on. I felt strongly that 26.2 miles was the only distance that I could consider. And so then I made the commitment, and I have not looked back since. These are the things that I will keep in mind tomorrow as I face the 26.2 miles ahead of me. I can’t quit, because mom can’t quit.
So as of last night, I have raised $2,555 for the Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation. My sister has raised $2255. A number that I never could have imagined back when the idea of running to raise money was first hatched. All thanks to God for inspiring everyone to give. And I pray that the money will advance the search for a cure.

Leave a comment

Run Cancer Run

Interested in my journey? Please check out the "About" page and my first post: https://runcancerrun.wordpress.com/2010/12/05/am-i-crazy-maybe/